Day 66 – Field of Light at St Andrew’s Square

Posted: February 4, 2014 in Edinburgh, Fuji XF1, photography, Project 365, Scotland, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Day 66 - St Andrew's Square

I took today’s shot on the way home from work with my Fuji XF1 – I didn’t have a tripod with me so had to balance the camera on a low wall to enable a long enough shutter speed.  This is a shot of St Andrew’s Square which is currently displaying an installation by the artist Bruce Munro (a link to the exhibition on his website is here) called Field of Light at St Andrew’s Square.  A link to the details of the event on the List is here.  It is a fantastic installation with a sea of orbs of light which change colour in waves across the square.  This shot shows only part of the installation but I liked the composition which also shows some of Edinburgh’s historic architecture.  If you are in Edinburgh it is really worth going to see it, there was a real atmosphere tonight.  This project has really made me appreciate the creative arts on a whole new level and I really love this installation.

All rights reserved.  Image Copyright Euan Murray 2014.

Comments
  1. I see it is becoming more and more an ‘Edinburgh’ project, but I am sure it may change, with other surprises, from a creative like you. St Andrew Square is a beautiful spot in Edinburgh, and this photo nicely portraits part of it. I am going to see the installation. Thanks for the info.

Leave a Reply

